Board of Directors

The Capital City Pride Board centers on the fundamental responsibilities of providing the organization with sound governance, fiduciary and strategic oversight, and direction. The board is responsible for assuring the financial integrity and solvency of the organization and establishing procedures to safeguard the organization from fraud and risk. The board oversees: 

  • The operations of the organization 
  • That the mission addresses a community need 
  • That the public’s trust is upheld 
  • That all practices are ethical 
  • That legal requirements are met.
Dan Jansen Headshot
Dan Jansen
Burl Hutchison Headshot
Burl Hutchison
Vice Chair
Meredith Murphy Headshot
Meredith Murphy
Shannon Samuelson Headshot
Shannon Samuelson
Director of Finance
Amy Eaton Headshot
Amy Eaton
Ex Officio
Rebecca Smith
Director of Community Engagement
Vivette Perry Headshot
Vivette Perry
Director of Entertainment & Gala
Shaun Eilander Headshot
Shaun Eilander
Director of Events & Education
Maison Head Shot
Maison Bleam
Director of Pride Fest
Meda Brkic Headshot
Meda Brkic
Director of Diversity, Accessibility, & Inclusion
Bartley Mullin Headshot
Bartley Mullin
Director of PR & Communications
Kyli Hassebrock Headshot
Kyli Hassebrock
Director of Brand & Marketing
Steven Hodges Headshot
Steven Hodges
Director of IT

Deputy Directors, Committee Members & Year-Round Volunteers

Brandon Hillig
Deputy Director of Events
Charles Newell
PR & Communications Committee Member
Darren Hushak
Deputy Director of Pride Fest, Pride Fest Productions
Emily Duffy
Deputy Director of Events & Education
Erik Pingel
Deputy Director of Events & Education
Hillary Mullen
Deputy Director of PR & Communications
Josh PeterSmith
Deputy Director of Design
Katherine Price
Deputy Director of Events & Education
Kristen Meyers
Deputy Director of Pride Fest, Pride Fest Operations
Mickey Davis
Deputy Director of Entertainment, Pride Fest Entertainment
Mitch Kunert
Deputy Director of Pride Fest, VIP & Sponsor Experience
Rob Rose
Deputy Director of IT
Sara Middleton-Downing
Deputy Director of PrideFest, Beverage Operations
Sarena Ramirez
Deputy Director of Community Engagement
Zach Rus
Deputy Director of Community Engagement

Board Support

Cassandra Halls Headshot
Cassandra Halls
Consultant, 2 The Top
Pinnacle logo
Darren Hushak
Production, Pinnacle Recording
Jen Carruthers Headshot
Jen Carruthers
Joelle Blanchard Headshot
Joelle Blanchard
Kristen Myers Headshot
Kristen Myers
Event Management, Party on Des Moines
Scott Bruxvoot Headshot
Scott Bruxvoort